Monday, 23 January 2017

Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt

Title: Unconventional
Author: Maggie Harcourt
Published by: Usborne
Publication date: 1st February 2017
Pages: 464
Genres: Young Adult/Romance/Contemporary
Format: Paperback
Source: Review copy from the publisher.


Lexi Angelo is a Convention Kid - she's got a clipboard and a walkie talkie to prove it.

Aidan Green is a messy-haired, annoyingly arrogant author and he's disrupting her perfect planning.

In a flurry of awkward encounters, lost schedules and late-night conversations, Lexi discovers that some things can't be planned... Things like falling in love.

Fans of Stephanie Perkins and Rainbow Rowell, say hello to your next favourite book!

Lexi Angelo's dad is one of the most successful organisers of conventions, and Lexi helps out with each and every event despite coursework, exams, and family problems. She knows all there is to know about conventions, and they even have a 'Convention Family' consisting of the regular staff members. But then a certain nineteen-year-old debut superstar author attends one of the conventions, and things get shaken up...

There are so many things I loved about this book. SO MANY. Firstly, the fact that I snagged an early copy from Usborne, because I read the sampler at YALC last year and honestly didn't know how I was supposed to wait seven months for the whole thing. Secondly: Harcourt's attention to detail was much appreciated, endlessly fascinating, and authentic - I love getting to see behind the scenes! And thirdly... THIS BOOK HAS CAMEOS FROM REAL YA AUTHORS. NO, I AM NOT JOKING. I was basically just fangirling over every page. Don't mind me.

In addition, Unconventional boasts a believable romance that I loved, and some truly beautiful scenes; I'm not sure if this is something I've ever noted in a book before, but there really were. If you're good at making fan art, you'll get some gorgeous creations out of this, trust me; the material is alllllll there.

If you're having YALC withdrawal symptoms, you need this book in your life. If you're not having YALC withdrawal symptoms and you've never even been to a convention (WHY?) you still need this book in your life. Unconventional is beautifully crafted, full of fandom greatness, and is sure to make you feel good. A definite must read.

2 comments:

  1. This book sounds pretty good! I normally don't like romance YA novels since they all seem to be similar. This one might be the exception. haha. AND you're basically gushing about it. I do it too...don't worry. XD

    ReplyDelete
  2. AUTHOR CAMEOS????? Well if I wasn't excited for this book before then I certainly am now!

    ReplyDelete

Feel free to leave me a comment. I will get back to you as soon as I can! :)