Tuesday, 19 July 2016

Songs About a Girl by Chris Russell

Title: Songs About a Girl
Author: Chris Russell
Published by: Hodder Children's Books
Publication date: 28th July 2016
Pages: 483
Genres: YA Contemporary/Music
Format: Paperback
Source: Review copy from the publisher.


When aspiring photographer Charlie Bloom receives the invitation of her dreams - to take backstage photos for chart-topping boyband Fire&Lights - it's an offer she can't refuse.

Overnight she is launched into a world of fame, paparazzi and backstage bickering - caught between the dark charms of the band's lead singer Gabriel West, and boy-next-door bandmate Olly Samson.

But then Charlie stumbles upon a spine-tingling truth: all the songs Gabriel has written for Fire&Lights' debut album are, impossibly, linked to her and her past.

What does he want with Charlie? What's really going on?

Occasionally, a book will come along that shakes up the blogosphere completely. The latest of those books? Songs About a Girl by Chris Russell. Since the beginning of the year, bloggers have been going crazy over this, from exclaiming over how fun it is to read, to freaking out over plot twist after plot twist... and now it's my turn.

Well, they weren't wrong - this is such a fun read. If you watched my book haul from June where I said it three or four times (vlogging ain't easy) you'll know that I love a bit of so-called 'boyband lit'. It's the perfect escapism, don't you think? In Songs About a Girl, however, it's even better, due to all the songs somehow being about Charlie and her past... how does that work? I guess you'll have to read it and find out.

...I did half guess the answer to that question very early on, though. Like, before I even opened the book. I just had a hunch and, annoyingly, I was right. However, I wasn't really expecting to be right because I never am when it comes to this sort of thing, so it still shocked me. It was done so cleverly, too! I am massively looking forward to the following two books; I might have predicted the ending, but I have no idea how things are going to continue from here...



I'm also looking forward to seeing more fun times play out between Charlie and her friend Melissa, and band members Yuki and Adrian. These four were my favourite characters: constantly loveable, realistic, and providing lighthearted banter. #archbishopofbanterbury #allaboardthebanterbus #bantersaurusrex #illstopnow

In all seriousness, this is such a brilliant book with funny dialogue and some very clever twists... you won't want to miss it. Perfect for fans of Sophia Bennett's Love Song and Zoella's Girl Online On Tour. And for anyone who has good taste in books, really...

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to leave me a comment. I will get back to you as soon as I can! :)