Saturday, 2 November 2013

HALLOWEEN WEEK GUEST POST: Top 5 Halloween Reads by Charli from To Another World

Only one day to go until the end of Halloween Week! *cue sad violins in the background* Today I have a post from a relatively new but extremely talented book blogger, Charli from To Another World. She has quickly become one of my best bloggy buddies so I'm honoured to have her on the blog today, talking about her favourite reads for Halloween!

Hi guys, I'm Charli and I blog over at To Another World! Today I'm mainly talking about dystopia books, which aren't always entirely spooky, but they are still quite dark! I love dystopia books, and here are my top five!


5. What's Left of Me- Kat Zhang
I should not exist. But I do.

Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learnt how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbours shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t . . .

For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she’s still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable-hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet . . . for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything

This book was amazing for its spookiness, though less for its characters and plot. It's still amazing though, so I totally recommend it! Read my review here.


4. Matched- Ally Condie


Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate... until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

EVERYTHING is awesome about this trilogy! Also, the covers are absolutely beautiful.




3. Breathe- Sarah Crossan
The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.

 I adored this book. I picked it up on a whim, and I'm so glad I did. The sequel comes out very soon, which makes me almost hyperventilate (see what I did there? No? Ok.). It's just amazing, so go read it...


2. The Hunger Games- Suzanne Collins
Katniss, 16, takes her sister's place in the televised annual Hunger Games, competing against Peeta, the boy who gave them bread to survive after their father died. The cruel Capitol forces each of 12 districts to submit a boy and girl 12-18, to fight to the death. Only one can survive and be rewarded. President Snow manipulates behind the scenes.

Do I really have to say anything to justify this choice? I imagine you've all read it, but if you haven't, GO READ NOW.




1. Divergent- Veronica Roth

In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue--Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is--she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are--and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

I absolutely love this book! I know some people will probably hate me that I ranked it above The Hunger Games, but I actually love it a teeeeennnnyyy bit more. It's just phenomenal, and I can't say anything else or I'll start fangirling. ALLEGIANT AND THE MOVIE SOON OMG! :) That's all the fangirling I'll do for now.

So, those are my top 5 dystopia books! I really hope you'll try them if you haven't already! You can visit my blog here, and/or talk to me on Twitter @Charli_TAW! 

Thanks to Amber for having me! 

Charli x

2 comments:

  1. Again, Divergent and Matched. I still have to read those series! Why can't I ever find the time to read them D:

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for having me Amber, and for the lovely comments at the top :D you're awesome x

    ReplyDelete

Feel free to leave me a comment. I will get back to you as soon as I can! :)